Uncategorized

Hope…

hope

Hope. Hope is an optimistic attitude of mind that is based on an expectation of positive outcomes related to events and circumstances in one’s life or the world at large.

These past few days have been nothing but sadness and anger over the events in the news. I am mostly a positive person that sees the glass half full. I believe in the good in the world. I give second and third chances. I forgive. I move on. I hope for better things, positive things and peace. But what happens when your Hope Tank is suddenly running low? That ray of light is growing dim?

I have no solutions. I have no perfect words. I have more negative feelings with this world lately. A place I do not like to be.

What I do know is this…I was raised and raise my children with beliefs that seem to be lost in the world right now….

1. EVERYONE should be treated equal. We are all human beings created by God. We are all the same skin no matter our race, color, religious beliefs, sexual preference etc. We are all God’s children no matter what. We are the same.

2. I was taught and teach my children that Police Officers are there to protect us. They are the good guys. Their job is to protect and serve. Do not fear them. Trust them. Call them when you are in trouble. They will protect you. They are our friends.

3. We live in one of the greatest countries! USA. The land of the free. With that comes all kinds of freedoms. One of those is the right to bear arms. I do agree however there needs to be a little bit of change in that area, but overall it is a right we have. A privilege.

4. BE KIND.

So how do we keep HOPE when all of these things we were taught and try and teach our children are all messed up? How do we explain to our children these events over the past couple days? How do we feel safe if we get pulled over? How do we move forward with equality when it is feeling like we are getting more divided? This scares me. It scares me for my children, for their children. We should be moving forward and making this country better for our future, not more divided and violent.

I am finding it hard to HOPE for things to be better, yet the small light in me that screams to stay positive is trying so hard to creep out. I pray for peace, for equality and love. I know that makes me sound like a hippie girl in la la land, but what else can I do but pray for these things and HOPE God can hear me.

 

Leave a Reply

