Jillsy's Blog

being a wife…birth mom…adoptive mom….dealing with infertillty & life

The Delicate Balance of Family July 16, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — jillsy @ 5:19 pm

A good friend’s birth daughter wrote this blog – it is beautifully written!

Peyton's underused blog

It’s an awfully strange notion to feel a part of two very different families.

When I met my biological mother’s family for the first time last month, I felt akin to them almost immediately. It was very odd to meet and converse with the only people I have ever known to look like me, to see the origins of my affinity for word games, to feel a part of a community that would have been mine.

Screen Shot 2015-07-16 at 11.55.44 AM

The most powerful experience for me came in the form of a 6-year-old girl. My birthmother’s niece [my cousin?], Erica, looked just like I did when I was younger, and seeing her catching minnows in the lake and tricking her older cousins in the sandbox reminded me of doing those things with my adoptive family… spending summer days fishing off the dock and coating my cousins’ cabin with fart spray. By watching her, in a…

View original post 327 more words

 

Leave a Reply

