Uncategorized

R-E-S-P-E-C-T

Aretha sang about it, famous authors have written about it, but yet we lack it when someone is “different” than us. Why? I will admit it…when I first heard that Bruce Jenner was going to transition into a woman I wanted to take in the whole crazy show… as a circus type show.  I recorded the Diane Sawyer interview. But when I watched it, I didn’t see a “freak show” – I saw a person who had to hide who he/she REALLY was for 65 years. 65 years! That is over half a lifetime. I saw a person in pain because she just wanted to be the person she was born to be. I teared up, my heart broke. This person could not be their authentic self because of society.

I watched the ESPY awards last night because Caitlyn Jenner was receiving the Arthur Ashe Courage Award. I wanted to hear her speech. I knew it was going to be powerful. I knew she would turn her pain into a platform to help others. If famous respected people in the sports and entertainment world could give her a standing ovation because of her courage…then perhaps society could learn something and accept others no matter who they are. If people world wide could respect Bruce Jenner the Olympic athlete, then they would accept and respect Caitlyn Jenner, the transgender. That respect could be passed down to others struggling with who they really are and afraid to be authentic. That it is ok to be your authentic self.

This world we live in is not black and white and people don’t fit into the molds society creates for them. That is what makes it wonderful. The part that makes it freaky, ugly and upsetting is the molds we EXPECT people to fit into. Sometimes it is not that easy or clean cut. The people who don’t fit into the molds are the ones that can make a difference. They can take their courage to not fit into these stupid molds we have created and live authentically. That is courage…

After last night’s speech, two quotes have stayed with me…

“Accepting people for who they are…Accepting people’s differences” – Caitlyn Jenner

“From respect comes a more compassionate community, a more empathetic society, and a better world for all of us” – Caitlyn Jenner

 

Leave a Reply

