Uncategorized

Mothers…all types.

Mother’s Day  – a day we celebrate all moms of the world. But I got to thinking about ALL types of mom’s that affect our lives. I know when it comes to my life, there are so many “mothers” that I honor and think of at this time of year…

My mom: Nedra Confer. She is wonderful. Not only my mom, but my friend. She is the one I call when I need advice, having a bad day, or have exciting news to tell. She gives me advice for my children, cooking, stain removal and gardening. She can laugh at the silliness and craziness of our family and tear up over an emotional  moment on TV as easy as I can. She is QUEEN of stain removal (ask anyone that has known her! haha) She has conquered breast cancer and battles a sleep disorder every day of her life with that “matter of fact” drive she has. She is the most honest person I know. She has always been there for me and I know she always will be.

My sister: She inspires me – she has two beautiful girls. She is a patient and loving mom. She teaches her children independence and respect along with humor. She can have a terrible day and still keep that patient voice with her children. I admire that. She is my best friend and I look up to her more than I think she knows.

My beautiful girls birthmoms: I have been where they were. Young and pregnant. Their decision to put their babies up for adoption made me a mommy. I admire their decision. It is a decision that changes so many people’s lives in such a wonderful way. I hope to someday meet them and let them know how much I appreciate them.  

My daughters foster moms: Because of you my babies were loved and cared for until they could fly across the world to be with us. They didn’t have to be in an orphanage and a “number”.

Joshua’s mom: A woman I don’t even know, yet we share a wonderful bond – Joshua.  I can’t even put into words how much admire her, appreciate her and someday so hope to meet her. My last year’s journey with Joshua has been wonderful and yet I am sure difficult for her in some aspects. I couldn’t be a mom – a good mom that a baby needs at such a young age…but she married Joshua’s dad and became a mom at a young age. She is his REAL mom. He is such a wonderful person and that is because of her.

Mom in Law: A truly remarkable woman. Raised 3 children – alone, suffering with the disease of alchoholism and part of the welfare world. That is no easy task. All of her children are grown and have nothing but respect and admiration for her. Since she has been part of my life, she has become sober kicking the alcoholism and I have seen her blossom into an even more beautiful loving mom and grandmother.  Thank you for having an awesome son!!

Step Mother in law: This woman is married to Mike’s dad. I have know her for as long as I have known Mike. She is a wonderful mom and grandma! She treats all of us in laws and outlaws as if we were HER children.  

So many moms in my life have created my family…because of all of them I have become a mom – a birth mom and a REAL mom.  I honor all of you this weekend and without all of you I would not be the mom I am today. I love you all…

Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

