Adoption, birth mom, family, infertility, mom, Uncategorized

A New Year…

10…9…8…7…6…5…4…3…2…1…..HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!

Every year’s end is celebrated the same: parties…confetti…champagne…hats….annoying noise makers…countdown and kisses at midnight. So then what? Yes, a NEW year has arrived. 2011!  People make all kinds of resolutions that last a few weeks (some even longer) – spend less money, loss weight, exercise more, be heathlier, nicer and more patient and the list goes on. Why is it that we wait for a brand new year to have those goals – just so we can remake them at the start of the next year and repeat every new year from here on out?  If you want to lose weight – do it – why wait for New Years Day? If you want to be nicer – do it…see where I am going with this?

“A new year is unfolding – like a blossom with petals curled tightly concealing beauty within”

My mom’s birthday is New Year’s Eve – I always thought that was a great night for a birthday – all the hoopla and fan fair all wrapped into a birthday at the same time! But while it is still a cool night….how about a cool way to start the next year of your life?

I am one of those people that make the same resolutions as everyone else and fail. This year I want to make personal goals – not so much “resolutions”, but things that are good for ME and in return will be good for the ones I care about.  I want to be more patient – with my family, friends and not rush thru life, but enjoy the day to day to the fullest. I want to hold my children more and let them know they are loved more than anything….let my husband know that he IS my rock and best friend and I love him so, let my family know that with them life is so wonderful and my friends know that they keep me sane and in laughter everytime I see them.  I want to say yes more to things I would quickly say no to and say no more to the things I would say yes to.  Balance – keeping ME in check so that the rest of my life is in check.

“The object of a new year is not that we should have a new year. It is that we have a new soul”

Start the new year with open eyes and an open heart….embrace every day as the true gift it is.  Love one another. Be kind and patient. Laugh more!

Happy 2011 to all of you – may your year be new and fresh and full of life!

Leave a Reply

